Bayou Garden http://wrkf.drupal.publicbroadcasting.net en For Roses, It's Ugly Season http://wrkf.drupal.publicbroadcasting.net/post/roses-its-ugly-season <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Rose bushes generally don't look their best this time of year. </span></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Heat takes its toll.&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span></p><p> Sat, 30 Aug 2014 11:31:00 +0000 Dan Gill 31393 at http://wrkf.drupal.publicbroadcasting.net For Roses, It's Ugly Season It's Been a Hot, Dry Week http://wrkf.drupal.publicbroadcasting.net/post/its-been-hot-dry-week <p>This kind of weather is really stressful to plants. It doesn't take long for things to start drying out when the daytime highs are in the mid 90s and the heat indexes are reaching the 100s.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p> Sat, 23 Aug 2014 11:42:00 +0000 Dan Gill 31100 at http://wrkf.drupal.publicbroadcasting.net It's Been a Hot, Dry Week Too Hot in the Garden? Hang with the House Plants http://wrkf.drupal.publicbroadcasting.net/post/too-hot-garden-hang-house-plants <p>Successfully growing house plants starts with understanding their needs. House plants contribute to the interior decor, but they are not furniture, and they are not knick-knacks. They are alive!</p><p></p><p> Sat, 09 Aug 2014 12:18:00 +0000 Dan Gill 30502 at http://wrkf.drupal.publicbroadcasting.net Too Hot in the Garden? Hang with the House Plants Last Chance to Fertilize, Y'all http://wrkf.drupal.publicbroadcasting.net/post/last-chance-fertilize-yall <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">If you want to give your lawn one last boost, August is the time to do it.&nbsp;</span>&nbsp;Prune those shrubs while you're at it.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span></p><p></p><p> Sat, 02 Aug 2014 11:59:00 +0000 Dan Gill 30217 at http://wrkf.drupal.publicbroadcasting.net Last Chance to Fertilize, Y'all Pop Go the Mushrooms http://wrkf.drupal.publicbroadcasting.net/post/pop-go-mushrooms <p>After a rainy period in summer we typically see mushrooms popping up everywhere in the Baton Rouge area.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p> Sat, 19 Jul 2014 11:19:00 +0000 Dan Gill 29589 at http://wrkf.drupal.publicbroadcasting.net Pop Go the Mushrooms Leaves of Three, Let it Be http://wrkf.drupal.publicbroadcasting.net/post/leaves-three-let-it-be <p>Poison ivy is abundant during the summer in urban, suburban, and rural landscapes. To deal with poison ivy, first of all you have to be able to recognize it.</p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span></p><p> Sat, 12 Jul 2014 12:12:00 +0000 Dan Gill 29265 at http://wrkf.drupal.publicbroadcasting.net Leaves of Three, Let it Be Pinch That Wilting Violet http://wrkf.drupal.publicbroadcasting.net/post/pinch-wilting-violet <p>Deadheading is an important, but often neglected, gardening technique -- it involves pruning off old, faded flowers from a plant as it blooms.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p> Sat, 05 Jul 2014 11:25:00 +0000 Dan Gill 28919 at http://wrkf.drupal.publicbroadcasting.net Pinch That Wilting Violet Hot Summer Herbs http://wrkf.drupal.publicbroadcasting.net/post/hot-summer-herbs <p>Many of the popular herbs we grow languish in the heat of the summer, and some of them downright pitch a fit, including thyme, chives, and cilantro. Fortunately, there are a number of herbs that tolerate, or even prefer, the hot, torrid weather of a Louisiana summer.</p><p></p><p> Sat, 28 Jun 2014 11:31:00 +0000 Dan Gill 28623 at http://wrkf.drupal.publicbroadcasting.net Hot Summer Herbs Stop and Prune the Roses? http://wrkf.drupal.publicbroadcasting.net/post/stop-and-prune-roses <p>Most roses are not especially happy in the extreme heat of mid-to-late summer. And, come to think of it, neither are most gardeners. But pruning some roses is something you might want to consider this time of year.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p> Sat, 14 Jun 2014 12:07:00 +0000 Dan Gill 27972 at http://wrkf.drupal.publicbroadcasting.net Stop and Prune the Roses? Humpty Dumpty, the Tree that Might Fall http://wrkf.drupal.publicbroadcasting.net/post/humpty-dumpty-tree-might-fall <p>Now that hurricane season is here, it's time to look at the trees in your landscape. A tree that's sickly, low in vigor, and shows significant signs of rot can be a real liability during storms. In the high winds of a hurricane, trees with weakened trunks are likely to go over. The extreme rains can soak the soil so much that trees can topple over if their weight is not balanced.</p><p></p><p> Sat, 07 Jun 2014 12:22:00 +0000 Dan Gill 27659 at http://wrkf.drupal.publicbroadcasting.net Humpty Dumpty, the Tree that Might Fall